Need some direction please

catfish182

Registered
Hello- I am a windows helpdesk support admin who just found out that i am now going to be supporting MAC. Not a big deal but i would like to know a few things. What are good referance books for not just the MAC workstation but also the server? (I get to support OS 10 server)

In learning the MAC what would be the best place to start for a seasoned windows guy?

Right now i have a laptop with OS 10.3 and i have another machine coming with 10.5. I have a laptop with OS 9 on it as i am told some of the machines have 9 on them. I have nothing currently for OS 10 server to practice with (is there anything that i can use to practice on OS 10 server?).

I have been looking for a forum that i feel can help me so i regged here. I have some referance books from peachpit publishing so i hope i am on the right path.

thanks for any help you can give me.
If you have windows questions let me know and i will see if i can help (I like to earn my keep when i can)

Chris

Hi Chris, hopefully you've found the right place!

I think the 'standard' book for switchers is this: http://www.amazon.com/Switching-Mac-Missing-Manual-Leopard/dp/0596514123

Its user level but good for getting ideas of what in windows equals what in OS X. Others may have recomendations for slightly more advanced books and OS X server stuff which I am not knowledgeable about.

From a tech support point of view I think this site really will help, if you look at the standard sorts of questions we get asked it should give you an idea of the issues your users will face. There are a few really standard things you normally ask users to do if something goes wrong, like repairing permissions (which is a general catchall fix for lots of issues), resetting power management systems (PMU and SMC), zapping PRAM, booting into single user mode etc, i suspect you can get a lot of them from the book i linked, if not other books.