New to Mac and need some help

kwng

Registered
Hi. I am new to Mac (totally new). I have got myself a Powerbook 520c from
car boot sale. It comes with 3.5" diskette drive and a few ports at the back which I am not familiar with. It has mouse (looks like ps2 mouse) but cannot fit into any of the ports and it comes with a cable that has a ps2 looked a like connector at both end. That's all. It boots up fine and it says system 7.1.
It does not a lot software. I only noticed Clariswork and a simple text editor
and some scheduling software. It does not have an internal or external CD drive.

I have a lot questions and currently I could not do much with the powerbook.
I only hope it will be able to connect to the internet for browsing but so far I was kind of disappointed. Some of the things I am keen to know is

1). Do I need to upgrade the OS to browse? If so, I do not know how and I do not have any Mac OS with me. Please advise on purchase or download.
I have Windows-based PC which can access internet and has diskette drive and DVD RW drives. I guessed the new Mac OS will not support this powerbook but how do I access the old ones.

2). This related to the first question. If I do not need to upgrade, how can I setup and access internet. Please advise on hardware and software. I do note
that it has MacWeb but I do not know how to setup the hardware. I am currently accessing internet through a cable modem (USB connection) through one of my PC. I had a ethernet hub which hooked up 2 more PCs (client). Do powerbook 520c support USB connection? I also need advice on how to setup the network connection (PPP? or ethernet?). In windows, the modem came with a software in CD which automatically setup everything.
If I do need to upgrade my OS then, I'll have to ask more questions later.

3). I need some advice on installing software from diskette and formatting it.