Optimum spec for Photoshop CS

faizal

Registered
Hi all,

My first post here :D. My name is Faizal from Malaysia. This coming weekend i'm going to get my iBook 12.1" and become a Mac user ! [Yay!!] :D after all those years as a windoze user.

I have searched through the threads on this forum on optimum spec to run Photoshop CS. I'm a freelancer photographer and most of the time i'd spend quite a number of hours in front of a PC (soon in front of a Mac!! :D) doing post processing. My PC at home running on Athlon 1.7 with 512MB DDR RAM Win2K OS, which is running just so-so.

Therefore, I'm thinking to add more RAM to iBook by adding another 512MB to the on board 128MB thus becoming to 640MB.

So, would 640MB would just nice? RAM here in Malaysia is a bit expensive :confused:

Thanks all and looking forward to participate more in here :D

Ram is very important for Pshop. If you are doing heavy stuff then I would suggest you max out your ibook to as much as it will take - it will be worth the money.

On a side note, I would be surprised if the ibook would perform as well as the 1.7 athlon, the ibook is more of a consumer product than professional. I would go for a powerbook instead, if you can afford the extra costs, this will then run Pshop very well, you can chuck in 2 gigs of ram too.

how important is portability? because the G5 desktop is where Apples performance is...

thanks! :D

well, the reason i choose ibook is due to portability. i can just slot into my camera bag and on with shooting, therefore the ibook 12" would be my first choice. i'd love to get the desktop but since i already have a PC at home, suffice to have just one desktop. BTW, correct me if i'm wrong but i've read somewhere that max RAM for iBook 12" is 1.25GB only, no?

the 12" iBook can support 1GB RAM sticks. Get as much RAM as you can afford.

On behalf of the people on this board, I wish you 'selamat datang'.