OS X 10.2.4 Install Help

Myztiq

Registered
Ok, well I am tying to install OS X 10.2.4 onto my girlfriends iBook. She had problems when her father tried to install version 10.3. It is my first time ever working with a mac however I am a best buy geek squad agent so I know pretty much about computers in general. I insert the disk by holding down the space key after holding the power button, put the disk in, hold c. It starts up and I see the apple symbol with a rotating circle on the bottom. Then the apple symbol changes to a no sign like a little no smoking sign thing of some sort. What is wrong and what must I do? Thanks for all the help!

Okay new information....

I just ran the Apple Hardware Test CD that came with the laptop.
Got an error code....
Mass Storage
ata1/6/13 cd/dvd: 2,1

any ideas? i think it may be hard drive related due to Mass Storage and ata1 which is the hd slot. Can i just throw in any laptop hd in there? i might have one lying around. Its from a Win 98 system though...

well i just scanned it again and recieved a pass on the Apple Test... Odd... Well it seems that is a lost cause since im still trying to install please i need help anyone!

Myztiq said:
... error code....
Mass Storage
ata1/6/13 cd/dvd: 2,1

any ideas? i think it may be hard drive related due to Mass Storage and ata1 which is the hd slot. Can i just throw in any laptop hd in there? i might have one lying around. Its from a Win 98 system though...

That error code refers to ata1, which is the optical drive. The hard drive is at ata0.
The optical drive could be intermittent, which would explain some of what you have now. The 'prohibited' symbol (diagonal slash) usually means that some necessary data cannot be found. This is usually the result when trying to boot to a system software that is too old.