Possible Permissions Issues

didgan

Registered
Hey all!

First post here, so here goes nothin:

I'm a World of Warcraft player and I was doing a complete copy of the enitre WoW folder in order to play on 2 accounts at once. This was a long time ago but I'm pretty sure what happened is that it never finished copying and became an 'incomplete' file; whenever I would try and delete it, it would say it is 'currently in use' and wouldnt delete. I also noticed it was making my startup and any navigation within my HD/finder very slow and difficult. Now, being the idiot that I am, I was looking for ways to take care of the problem myself, although I have little knowledge of the OS. Again this was long ago (shotty memory) but I wound up using the program called Terminal to log in as the 'root' user and change my permissions (I think) to delete the file. This was successful and my computer was running back up to speed and everything.

Here's my problem (after a long intro, sorry):

Things such as TextEdit, Calculator, and other basic tools that come on the system seem to be no longer active. Their shortcut icons have all been changed to that white rectangle with a protractor(?) in the shape of an 'A' in the bottom right corner.

I can't access my system preferences; when I click on it, it just blinks whatever window I have open real fast, and doesnt open System Preferences. I think it might be openening it for a fraction of a second but automatically closing.

Another thing I noticed was that I put some mods/addons into my interface folder in WoW, and they aren't even being detected or recognized.

If anyone can help, I would greatly appreciate it! Thanks for taking the time to read my superlong post =) I'll be checking back promptly for replies.

Cheers,

Chris