Red Hat 9 and Mac Pros

Shookster

Registered
I want to use a program called Massive but unfortunately it only runs on Linux, not Mac OS X. It runs on both Red Hat 9 (I happen to have a spare copy of this) and Fedora Core 2 and 4. I've never used Linux before but I'm sure I can pick it up quickly. The main problem is deciding whether to buy a PC or a Mac Pro to run it on. I'd prefer a Mac because I can then dual boot with OS X. A PC wouldn't be much good for me other than for Massive and any other Linux apps I may need to run.

I have the following questions before asking:
1) Red Hat 9 is not the latest version. Is this likely to cause problems with the Mac Pros because they are new?
2) It says in the system requirements that it needs a 32-bit system. The chips in the Mac Pros are 64-bit but can operate at 32-bit. Is this likely to cause problems?
3) The Mac Pros have only just come out. Are Linux drivers available for its hardware? Also, several sites list drivers as "Linux compatible" rather than referring to any specific distro. Are these likely to work with RH9 bearing in mind that it is an old version?

Thanks.

Given the high price of Massive licenses, would I be mistaken to assume that you acquired this software by other means?

You would probably want to contact Red Hat first (or fedora), to ask when they will support the Mac Pro hardware.
Has there been a release of Red Hat to support ANY of the Intel Macs?

For that kind of money, Wouldn't you be better off purchasing the hardware that is recommended - and not hoping you can make something else work? Massive looks like you should get comprehensive support if you need it. Talk to Massive about your desire to use the Mac Pro. Maybe they have a solution for that, or planning to do that.