Repairing disk permission on RAID

jeno

Registered
Ok, i am new to Xserver stuff. I am wondering how can i repair disk/files permission on a RAID disk attached to the Xserve. I used Disk Utility comes with the OS, It see the RAID disk but does not allow me to perform repairing.

Thanks.

Repairing permissions is only effective on the boot drive. Repairing permissions on any drive other than the boot drive is pointless.

Are you trying to repair permissions on the boot drive, or some secondary RAID set attached to the computer?

I am trying to repair permission on another RAID drive attached to the server, not the boot drive.

If repairing permission on another drive (non boot drive) is pointless, how do i fix it?

Repairing permissions is only valid on the booting system. Other storage will have other issues, such as ownership. If you are using part of your RAID storage to access active system files, then permissions could be repaired. If not, then you have other issues, and not 'permissions'
So, what problems are you having with the files/folders on your RAID disk?

Thanks DeltaMac for pointing that out.

I was trying to repair files and folders permissions (privilege) on the attached RAID drive. I found that some of the files and folders have different ownership and the read and write privilege are mess up. User are having a lot of problem overwriting and accessing files on the server.

I am having this problem because the RAID drive was transfer from other location and was not setup in my location. The other thing that i am worried about is "Workgroup Manager" on Xserve. I have part of the user having full access and privilege to the server and another half of the user is only having Read access. "Workgroup Manager" does not works as it suppose to be, the full access user even having problem accessing some of the files on the server.

Please help!