So I have to lead the Mac revolution at my work...

buu

Registered
So I'm the only guy at my work who likes Mac. I'm a network administrator in a global Active Directory, fully Microsoft environment.

My boss is also a fan of Macs. Yesterday he gave me the green light to order 17" Powerbooks for him and myself and an Xserve.

I am presented with the task of figuring out how I can make the Xserve worth while in our environment. Now I realize this is a pretty broad question but can anyone offer suggestions of things I can do to show all the other guys that this Xserve can be useful to us? If I can do this, we'll be seeing a lot more of then in our data center :D

As well, I'm only a Mac end user with no experience on Xserve. What kind of learning should I seek to get into the nitty gritty details of sys/net admin when it comes to Mac?

Thank you kindly, in advance

Buu

What type of work do you do? How many staff and what are your requirements? I'd assume you probably already have covered the basics like email, web, file servers and so on, but there's always something that a business needs.

Often, if you just casually ask around, you'll find there are a lot of people who are working on stuff ... databases, wikis, documentation systems, new web services like blogs or RSS, videos, radio ads and presentations. Find out what people actually want first, then see how you can go about getting it for them. Just looking around my office, I know of one person who wants a VNC remote takeover facility, another who is begging for a push towards VOIP, another who wants a new wiki system, and so on.