Terminal

Glenmac

Registered
I am brand new to Terminal and trying to learn it. I have read OS manual and learning slowly but have 2 questions:
1) When I open my Terminal app, instead of stating my computer name, it has a number: __-___-___-___:, then ~user$. Why is there a number instead of a name?

2) When do you use a space in your commands and when should you not use a space-couldn't find a good explanation, just text examples.

I don't use Terminal now but it looks fun and I want to learn, cautiously!!
Thanks,
Glen

Sorry, forgot to ask again........would you be able to answer my first question about why I have all those numbers in front of my name as below:
68-187-201-214:~ glenmccleary$
Thank you,
Glen

ElDiabloConCaca,

That is exactly what it is. I checked my network settings. How would that get into the computer name settings, since my understanding is that Terminal is not dependent upon any internet functions to apply?
Thanks....

It could be that that's your actual computer name -- you can verify this in the Sharing pane of the System Preferences.

Changing the name of your computer in the Sharing pane should also change the prompt in Terminal.

I checked the sharing prefs and the computer name is set as "my name's" iMac. That is what I thought was supposed to be in terminal.

Glen

The single quote (i.e. "Jeff's iMac") is an invalid character; or, rather, it should be "escaped" when using it in a bash shell string. Since it's invalid, the hostname in bash is probably defaulting to your IP address.

Try changing the name of your computer in the Sharing pane to something like "iMac of Jeff" instead of "Jeff's iMac" (or give it a clever name -- "Goliath" for a Mac Pro, "Frankenstein" for a heavily-modded Mac, etc.). Use upper- and lowercase letters, dashes (no underscores), and numbers only. Better yet, use upper- and lowercase letters only. That should clear it up.