andrefrancis
... yes it's really me!
I have just bought an iMac24 and of course I love it ... but ... there are a couple of things that I have problems with. I wonder if anyone can help.
1. I do not have a Trash (wastebasket) icon on my desktop ... and thus cannot inspect or undelete anything I have trashed! How can I get access to it?
2. When I first got my machine, I did an import of everything from my old g4 box, which had the previous OfficeX software (10.1) installed. Unfortunately, the iMac had a test drive copy of a more recent Office2004 (11.2) suite, which I promptly trashed, since the previous version is perfectly adequate and I had no wish to spend extra money on something I didn't need. However, the problem is that when I double click a doc saved using Word (and Excel) 10.1, the system reports a problem, since the default setting for these two apps is 11.2. Once I call up the old appn and then use File/Open, I can see my previous doc and then resave it. However I cannot seem to make the 'Change All' button work the way I want. When I press it, it makes all the current Word docs a slave of 11.2 ... and I am back where I started. What I need is a way of making 10.1 the default appn rather than 11.2 ... which I no longer have and do not want. Can anybody help?
Thank you ... in anticipation
Andre
1. I do not have a Trash (wastebasket) icon on my desktop ... and thus cannot inspect or undelete anything I have trashed! How can I get access to it?
2. When I first got my machine, I did an import of everything from my old g4 box, which had the previous OfficeX software (10.1) installed. Unfortunately, the iMac had a test drive copy of a more recent Office2004 (11.2) suite, which I promptly trashed, since the previous version is perfectly adequate and I had no wish to spend extra money on something I didn't need. However, the problem is that when I double click a doc saved using Word (and Excel) 10.1, the system reports a problem, since the default setting for these two apps is 11.2. Once I call up the old appn and then use File/Open, I can see my previous doc and then resave it. However I cannot seem to make the 'Change All' button work the way I want. When I press it, it makes all the current Word docs a slave of 11.2 ... and I am back where I started. What I need is a way of making 10.1 the default appn rather than 11.2 ... which I no longer have and do not want. Can anybody help?
Thank you ... in anticipation
Andre