Unable to Install BootCamp

dr34dl0rd

Registered
Hi, im a newbie mac user. Just got my mac a few days back

Its a macbook pro running on core 2 duo.

So i wanted to install a windows.............

As i ran boot camp, the error msg

" Your startup disk cannot be partitioned or restored to a single partition "

My initial thoughts were that I had multiple partitions. ( My mac was bought from my school )

But a check revealed no hidden partitions. ( Disk Utility only showed 1 HDD Icon )

So I tried repairing, verifying the disk and all was good. However, I still couldnt install... anyone can help? !!

My current HDD is formatted to Mac OS Extended ( Journaled ) and there is only 1 partition... so i cant figure out whats wrong... help anyone?

PS: I just realised it was formatted Apple Partition Scheme.. Does this have any influence?

How much free space do you have on your hard drive?

Boot Camp cannot partition the drive if there is not enough free space available.

It has been reported if you have external devices connected it may cause this problem. Do you have anything connected while you are trying the procedure? Also follow the instructions on this blog.

ok maybe i wasnt really clear. But When i said couldnt install. The error message just flashed, and NOTHING else worked. Meaning after i installed boot camp assistant. I ONLY got to that error msg. Nothing ELSE. Meaning no hard disk error, file-in-use errors or anything else. Just

" Your startup disk cannot be partitioned or restored to a single partition "

Thats ALL

OK -
Open your Disk Utility
Click on the line that shows the name of your partition (not the line with the manufacturer's info).
Tell us what is listed next to Format, Capacity, and Used, from the listing at the bottom of that window

Ok im not very sure which one your talking about so ima list all :

Mount Point : / Capacity : 111.7 GB
Format: Mac OS Extended ( Journaled ) Avaliable : 85.1 GB
Owners Enabled : Yes Used: 26.6 GB