Uninstalling

pawel

Registered
Am I correct in saying that you don't have to uninstall things on OSX like PC?

When you want to remove a program for example you just find it applications and remove it? or not?

Sorry is this is a dumb questions, like I stated before I am new to Mac's:confused:

Most OS X are packages of files and to see this just right click on an application and 'Show Package Contents'. All applications have a simple text preference file in the file /Your Hard Drive/Users/Your User Name/Library/Preferences. Also some applications put helps files in /Your Hard Drive/Users/Your User Name/Library/Application Support. Some application s also install other files around you Mac. If you don't want to remember all these places to delete unwanted files a third party developer made the application AppZapper.

Lastly most bigger application installers usually have a de/un-installer included the initial download package. Always check for these first.

'Am I correct in saying that you don't have to uninstall things on OSX like PC?' - correct. The MacOS is not the same as a PC with Windoze installed; thus, the installation / un-installation processes, or items placements, are not the same.

'When you want to remove a program for example you just find it applications and remove it? - yes ... and no.

'... or not?' - correct.

Some applications are single files and are typically placed, by an installer or the user, into the '/Applications/' folder.
Some applications and support files in a folder and are typically placed, by an installer or the user, into the '/Applications/' folder.

Regardless of the installation used (as described above) some application create a folder in the '~/Library/Application Support/' folder, and a '.plist' file into the '~/Library/Preferences/' folder.