Video Card help with a G3 Desktop.

camgangrel

Registered
Hi I'm new at this Mac stuff I first started out on apples then the old mac then move over to the PC now after allmost 15 years I'm trying to come back.
What I would like to know is if I can take my Nvida PCI video card that I had on my PC and run it on my Mac it is a G3/266 it has a 512MB stuck and a 64MB stuck of RAM. I have all my PCI slots open. Now the is a Nvida Gforce 4 with I think 64MB of VRAM on the card. Now is there anyone out there been able to get this card to work? Oh I have OS X 10.2.8 / OS 9.2.2 both updated as far as my ROM on my Mac will let me. That is for some where other then here. I think anyway. Could someone help out by telling me if the linux drive will work because I use linux on my PC for about 7 years. So I know how to port stuff. I had Mac OS X 10.2.8 Ported and run on my old AMD 1.2Ghz PC. So I know how to take stuff form PowerPC Code and ported. Now I just need someone to help me out. By the way where on Mac is X11 and GC++ and GC?

I have a hard time believing that you ported Mac OS X 10.2.8 and ran it on a non-PPC processor-based machine.

No, the video card will not work in the Mac. Video cards have specific PC-only or Mac-only ROMS on them. While it's possible to "flash" the card with a Mac-specific ROM, the results are usually less than stellar. It's not the drivers holding it back, it's the ROM on the card itself.

IT really depends on the card. Even though both PCs and MAcs have PCI slots, not all the cards have the support hardwired in the firmware to support the Mac....something about "marketshare". :rolleyes:

Anyways, NVIDIA does support the Mac, but the video cards have to be able to "talk" to the Mac hardware, which is why the firmware requires coding for the Mac as well. Now it IS possible to "flash" the firmware to support the Mac, but it's not supported by most manufacturers of video cards and can render your card useless.