Website authoring tool

Viro

Registered
Hey fellas, I'm looking for a website authoring tool that provides a rich set of templates allowing me to quickly knock up a website. Preferably something that's more WYSIWYG and less of a HTML editor (since I can do that in any text editor :D).

I've come across iWeb but I've heard that the HTML code it outputs is not that great. I'm a software developer by trade and while hacking HTML/CSS/Javascript is not out of my reach, I'd prefer not to. What I'm looking for is something like MS Frontpage (with standards compliant HTML output!) but for the Mac.

Hey fellas, I'm looking for a website authoring tool that provides a rich set of templates allowing me to quickly knock up a website. Preferably something that's more WYSIWYG and less of a HTML editor (since I can do that in any text editor :D).

I've come across iWeb but I've heard that the HTML code it outputs is not that great. I'm a software developer by trade and while hacking HTML/CSS/Javascript is not out of my reach, I'd prefer not to. What I'm looking for is something like MS Frontpage (with standards compliant HTML output!) but for the Mac.
To even mention MS FRontpage and standards HTML in the same sentence is an "OxyMoron".

Along with Rapidweaver, which is what I use, another tool which looks good is SandVox .

jb.

Thanks for the heads up. Those two tools look fantastic.

p.s. FrontPage generates poor HTML. Hence I wanted a FrontPage that generated standards compliant HTML. Sorry if that wasn't clear ;)

There's not much in options out there for that type of program (Frontpage, iWeb, etc.) that'll output standards compliant code. If you want it totally compliant, the only way to do it is hand code with a text editor (BBedit, etc.)

I've heard some good things about Freeway:

http://www.softpress.com/