Why Mac if you have PC at home? (Why "Switch"?)

After reading this thread, should PC users switch?

• Of course!

• NO! stay the same.

Results are only viewable after voting.

decelerate

Registered
I have been using Micro$oft software for seven years from Win3.1 to WinXP. I love very much Mac design in terms of appearance, hardware and software (OS + apps bundled). I want to switch (but wait... just want!). Apple guys always say MacOS is more productive. Not too much people say apps on MacOS are more productive. I see the productivity gain from apps from Apple Inc. However, what the users use most are apps from third parties. What I use daily are JBuilder, Java, Dreamweave, Flash, Photoshop, Acrobat, etc. They are from other software houses, not Apple Inc. Therefore, the productivity should be not much difference on Win or Mac if not the same. Only the design of the appearance, hardware and OS with few apps from Apple Inc are not worth for me to spend over US$1000. In addition, ugly MS Windows .. I have used to. Therefore, I still want only.

What do you think?

Hi,

First of all: good to hear you're thinking about the "switch"! :)

I just switched 4 weeks ago and I NEVER switched on my PC's since then. They're currently catching dust on top of a cupboard :D. What I like about MacOS X is that I get my WORK DONE. Using Windows (also from 3.1 'till XP) I always had to worry about stability (save my Word doc often to be sure, etc), and it sometimes took ages to get particular hardware to coexist in the same system (Sounblaster Live! conflicts with ASUS A7V133 board for instance, a f*ckin nightmare!) without driver nightmares, blue screens of death etcetera.

Using MacOS X it just isn't there! No stupid blue screens, no trouble with the hardware. Everything inside this little iMac is from Apple and severely tested as a SYSTEM, not as a collection of seperate parts (ok, I used to build my PC's my own. your mileage may vary using Dell or Compaq).