Would it be a good thing if Microsoft disappeared ?

Would it be a good thing if Microsoft disappeared ?

• Yes

• No

• Don't know

Results are only viewable after voting.

toast

Gone !
I'd like to know if my opinion is shared or not:

As a programmer, I think that it would be a great thing if a giant meteor could just cross Microsoft® out of the map.
As a designer, I appreciate (for business reasons) the existence of a standard, the Word file.

So I think Microsoft should and should not disappear. Your ideas ?

PS: there is no will to offend anyone in my question.

It would open up the game again, and I'd like that. Of course the American economy would go down (or so they tell us), but that wouldn't be THAT bad for the world either. So, yes, let 'em go down if you can.

hypothetically speaking:

If microsoft ceased to exist, wouldn't it be possible for Apple to turn into microsoft (*gasp*)? that would be a bad thing. I say If M$'s main HQs were wiped out it might not be too bad, then they would exist, but less.

i don t think apple would become microsoft, the philosophies of the company are just to different. but it is possible

i think the existence of the word format is bad for business. it ties businesses to one platform, it limits their flexibility. it forces businesses to upgrade when it might otherwise be unnecessary, just so they can read the latest word files.

i am in favor of microsoft disappearing

If MS disappeared, somebody else would just take their place.

Whether it be Apple, AOL or maybe even IBM and Linux, who's to say.

I think to a degree it's good that MS exists. It creates competition and forces others to strive harder. Unfortunately, due to anti-competitive practices, MS hasn't allowed for much competition in recent years.

I hope to see our legal system stop pussyfooting around MS though and come down on them like they have other monopolies before them.