Is Panther a MUST have?

Dlatu1983

Prime Minister
I'm going to the release party on Thursday night, and I'm wondering...is it worth it to get panther now? I'm a 20 year old student, so I'm not exactly loaded...I'm your "average" user...surfing the web, e-mail, iTunes, eyeTV, and chatting...it doesnt seem like there's anything in there compelling enough for me to buy it right now, even with the $69 student deal...I'm thinking I may be better off getting some hardware. Maybe the iPod voice recorder or something...or maybe saving up for an iSight. Am I on base here, or are there features that are "must haves" (not "cool features", but crucial ones I "need")

I agree wholeheartedly! MUST HAVE PANTHER! :D Absolutely!

As far as preliminary test, Panther will be faster and most iApps have enhanced functionality and stability. This may not be worth $69,- to you, but it surely is one of the reasons, even for "average" users to upgrade.
All the interface novelties in Finder (new Finder, exposé, user switching etc.), may one by one not be enough to persuade you, but the total package can enhance your work- or joyflow considerably.

All in all I would advise anyone to upgrade. For advanced users there are even more reasons (XCode, updated Unix underneath, X11 final etc.)

I cant save $ for ANYTHING. last month, I dropped my paycheck on a digital camera. 2 weeks ago, it was a bluetooth cellphone. This last week, a bluetooth dongle for my iMac. Now I want NICE earbuds for my iPod, the iPod recorder, Panther, and maybe a powerbook or ibook....

I don't know...a student doesn't really need panther. If you use your computer for work or for a portofilio then you might want to upgrade.

For me, Exposé is a "must have" feature. I'm constantly doing 80 things at the same time, and I know this would make things much easier on me than constant dock-shuffling.