Architecture Changes

williamsj

Registered
OK I am no big developer, so I am going to keep this simple:

Apple is starting to perform architecture changes exactly as Microsoft does... VERY BADLY.

I really do not know where to start, but in the UNIX world the only package that requires a reboot (unless you are totally incompetent) is the kernel. All other libraries etc are version driven and can be added at will...

So why does Lion need 20 mins to upgrade to 10.7.3 from 10.7.2; I expect 10 - 15 seconds; kernel not until reboot....

Next: Development platform:

I just installed Xcode 4.3 on two systems; one was an original upgrade to Lion from Snow Leopard the other a new Lion installation.

On the original I had:
technocats5:Development williamsj$ which git
/Developer/usr/bin/git

Then after upgrade:
technocats5:Development williamsj$ which git
/usr/bin/git

On the new build, git is nowhere to be found after installing Xcode.
So where did the development platform (/Developer) go? And do not ask me to read 1000 pages of shit, I do not want to know.. Read on..

My view on this after working in this hell business since 1971 has never changed and is very simple:

You may add anything you like, but you can NEVER change nor remove an API (That includes directory structures) without 5 years notice. This is not difficult to implement and adhere to!

Not difficult to implement in the UNIX world, unless you are out to screw your customers!! If MS implemented version numbers in their DLLs, then same applies.

Linux has managed this for decades (license for systems given); however this is a community working for the community, not for money grabbing investors!!

OK I am no big developer, so I am going to keep this simple:

OK you homnest about that.

So why does Lion need 20 mins to upgrade to 10.7.3 from 10.7.2; I expect 10 - 15 seconds; kernel not until reboot....