Ctrl+Alt+Del

psycht

Registered
I'm pretty new to OS X, just recently switched when I got my 1.8 Macbook Pro 2 weeks ago. I installed Win XP successfully, and when configuring it to connect to a domain, upon reboot I have to give it the "3-finger salute". The problem is, the DELTE key isn't functional at this stage for some reason.

Without removing XP and backtracking over the 2+hrs of installed I've already done, is there a way to get to the logon screen so I can make the necessary adjustments?

thanks.

Which delete key did you use? There should be another delete/backspace key that you could try. It might require the Fn key since you are on a MacBook Pro.

The substitute combo for Ctrl-Alt-Del?
Try Ctrl-Shift-Esc
I have heard that works, but have not tried it out for myself.

the MBP only has one visible Delete key. I tried using the Fn key w/ other combos as well. Still no luck..

Right now I'm reinstalling everything on my XP partition and see if there isn't a way to nip it before it happens again.

Unfortunately the Mac laptop keyboards don't have a delete key. The key marked "delete" is the one everyone else in the world calls "backspace". Yes, it's annoying.

Control-Alt-Delete is really only an issue for the MacBook Pro, as it lacks a true Delete Key. OnMac recommends this fix: Go to Start -> Run and enter remapkey for a utility to let you remap keys on your keyboard. OnMac suggests using the Right Command key on MacBook Pro keyboards—save and reboot, and you’ll be able to use Control-Alt-Right Command to act as your Control-Alt-Delete.

From: http://news.yahoo.com/s/macworld/20...0FEntsAKwZeW7oF;_ylu=X3oDMTA0cDJlYmhvBHNlYwM-