deleting an volume that's not reconised

Geminis

Registered
Here's my prob on Mac OS X Server 10.2.6;

When booting up it gives me this warning, something like: 'You have inserted a disk that MAC OS cannot read. Click ignore to proceed'

When booting from CD and using Disk Utility I can see beside my 3 harddisks, this volume: 2.00 MB Apple and in that volume (With a removable disk icon) 'tmp'

I cannot verify or delete it with the utility cause it gives the error: 'the disk 'tmp' failed to unmount cause it's in use - The operation is cancelled' See my lousy screenpicture. ;)

Is it a RAM disk?

Does anyone know what this is and what to do? Might be in terminal, and I have little experience with that.

Even our distributor of software never seen it!?

Thanks for any tips/help!

Attachments

• tmp.jpg
    tmp.jpg
    45.9 KB · Views: 11
Ok, you seem to have a rather serious problem.

I'm not 100% sure, but I'm putting pieces together from various bits of information, so don't take any drastic action based on this reply.

Linux/UNIX (and by extension Mac OS X) formats disks much differently than Windows or the old Mac OS. Mac OS X formats one single drive into many volumes to accomodate for a small boot partition,some data, etc. I believe it's all done automatically and inivisibly to the user.

I'm guessing what /tmp/ is is a mount point for the /tmp volume that has somehow become corrupted.

This is, however, just an educated guess.

I see by your pic the First Aid tab. What does the Information tab reveal about that volume? Also, If you disconnect the LaCie and any other external drives, do you still see the 'tmp' (it might be an corrupt partition on the LaCie??)

Thnx, for helping here!

michaelsanford, I think I need something like diskdoctor...

DeltaMac, actually it's at my work - but I will post some more screenshots tomorrow about your questions, also what the terminal revealed when listing the directory...