Enter the Dark Side!?

hulkaros

The Incredible...
Let me explain some stuff before I begin: I am a PC/Mac tech person and I have some experiences that I would like to share with you all... Until Ed or Admin will feel that this thing gets out of control, I will keep posting one experience each and everyday from the Dark Side (aka Wintel/amd world...) with details on the subject. I will not post lies or imaginative things! This would be easy to figure out because I will try to give as much as humanly possible, details on the experiences so if one thinks that he/she knows about PCs then it will be easy to figure out if I'm telling lies...

Of course questions, remarks, etc. are welcome!

So, for 04/11/2002 here is one such experience:

The systems...
--------------
2 boxes with the same following characteristics: Athlon XP 1700+, 256/266 DDR, Plextor 40/12/40 (in 1 of the two boxes), Pioneer DVD-ROM, ECS mainboards, GeForce 4MX 440 w/TV out, Midi towers, floppies, Sounb Blaster Live! 5.1, 350 Watt power supplies, PS/2 MS keyboards + mice, Maxtor HDs 40 GB/7200/ATA100, 10/100 network with crossover cable, 80pin cables for both IDE channels, Windows 2000 Pro, AudioCatalyst 2.1, Ahead Nero 5.5.9.14, EasyCD Creator 5.3.2 Platinum, Creative apps, PowerDVD 3, 30.xx nVidia drivers, Win2k SP2, other system drivers...

The problem...
--------------
Everything works just fine on one PC! On the other PC the problem is a mind crashing experience! If NOT everyday, while recording CDs with Nero and/or EasyCDthe PC stops recognising the blank CDs!!!

The solution...
-------------
After switching EVERYTHING on both PCs, reformatting/reinstalling everything, updating BIOS, OS, !!!everything!!! no solution was found! Or almost no solution! By shutting down and restarting the PC every now and then, EVERYTHING works just fine! This of course BEFORE the problem's appearance because when it does a shutdown/restart doesn't solve the problem!