Is Linux faster than OSX?

One Sick Puppy

Registered
I'm interested in running Open Office on my iBook. I'm a "native" windows user, and I'm rather frustrated with MS Word 2004 so unbelievably slow, and after trying various other word processors for the Mac, I'm thoroughly unimpressed. I've also tried installing X11 and that crashed on me shortly after I got Open Office installed, so I ditched it.

Now then, I'm thinking that perhaps an installation of some flavor of Linux + Open Office for Linux would be practical.

Can someone advise on this idea? Is Linux faster than OSX? I'm thinking maybe Mandrake, or Gentoo or Yellow Dog, as I've seen these suggested around the net. None of which I have any experience with whatsoever. In fact, I have little or no Linux experience... but I learn quick.

Yellow Dog Linux is by far the best PPC distro of Linux, IMO. Very easy to install, and is based upon the tried-and-true RedHad distros.

Yes, it's faster than OS X. Simply because, again IMO, Linux looks like crap and doesn't have the "polished" look and feel that OS X has. Sure, you can spend a few hours customizing a Linux install to look decent, but it's not that way out-of-the-box, so to speak.

I would suggest a dual boot setup with OS X and Linux, and Yellow Dog's site has plenty of FAQs and tutorials that teach you how to do this easily.

Good luck!

I would have to agree with ElDiablo. Linux would be faster when using X Windows as opposed to OS X's Aqua interface since X Windows doesn't (yet..will change in X11R6.8 from what I hear) have all the cool GUI enhancements and accelerations as Aqua does. However, I don't think it's because the interface looks like crap. Of course, that's all subjective.

You would have to find some benchmarks online to see which is faster, or conduct them yourself. As ElDiablo also mentioned, a dual-boot setup would probably be your best bet so you can try Linux but not lose the safety of OS X.