Might be a server/networking problem arrgh

orig_jane

Registered
Hi everyone,
I am new to all this tech support stuff, so please bear with me.

We have a G5 with OSX tiger installed, however recently it has had trouble mounting and browsing the file server (G4 with 10.3.9). There have been beachballs everywhere!

I have tried all the usual maintenance tasks, repairing disk permissions etc
But have had no joy.

Can anyone help?

Thanks for you time,
Jane

What usual maintenance tasks? Have you booted from the install DVD and used Disk Utility from there to repair the hard drive (Not permissions)?

Have you installed Onyx and deleted/cleaned caches?
http://www.titanium.free.fr/pgs2/english/download.html

Try this:
Get the IP address of the G4 from its Network prefs.
On the G5, got to Finder Go menu > Connect to Server, and enter AFP://{IP address of G4}

HTH

THanks for your quick response,
I have repaired the HD from the startup disk, and used onyx for cache files, pref files and permissions.
The way you suggested to connect is our usual method of connecting.

do you have any other ideas?

Thnka once again.

Perhaps it's something with the server, and not with the desktop... ?

Are there other client machines that connect to the G4 server and do not exhibit this problem?

If the G5 is running smoothly and exhibits no problems other than the networking issue, then it may be time to do a quick inspection of the network cables and switches that the G5 is connected to, just to make sure all cables and plugs are operating normally.

Does the G5 have any trouble connecting to other computers on the network? Or does it only exhibit symptoms when connecting to the server? Does the G5 exhibit network troubles when, say, browsing the web?

As you mention it, it does have trouble connecting to other computers, i.e. via sharing,