VersionTracker is no more!

I agree - compared to Versiontracker the new site is pretty suckful, but it appears to have the same functionality. Just use the search feature to find specific software.

One thing I miss is Versiontracker's highlighting/bold-ification of "popular" software updates (like iTunes, Adium, Toast Titanium, etc.).

The new site is far less easy on the eyes as the old one.

Well CNet has fully taken over a VersionTracker and it doesn't exists anymore! If you try to go to VerionTracker now CNet will forward you to CNet's Download.com and IMHO this totally stinks. :mad:

At least us Mac users still have MacUpdate.com. ::love::
May I join the Amen Corner? CNet had a choice. It could have shifted its downloads over to VersionTracker.com. Like too many times before, corporate arrogance won. CNet ditched the superior site that it purchased in favor of its homegrown crap.

CNet is to much Windows orientated and to many adverts for PC's on Mac pages. As a designer I find the interface is awful, where VersionTracker was clear and user friendly.

"Do not mend that which is not broken"

I've basically moved to macupdate.com ever since it popped up, as I found its layout to be easier on the eyes, anyway. Here's to the hope that c|net doesn't find a way to gobble that up as well...

I gave up on VersionTracker long ago. It was good when it was the only DL site with reviews but then it broke too often and was excessively clumsy to DL material.

MacUpdate is close to ideal for me and I also use their MacUpdate Desktop to maintain my software.

I spoke to MacUpdate about possibly integrating shopping, DLing, purchasing and installation to give us an alternative to the upcoming Mac App Store. They seem to think this is beyond them, given the limited co-operation they can get from developers.